What Will Make Me Content in My Career

As I am approaching graduation and ready to begin my real estate career in Miami, FL, I have my excitements but also fears. Although Miami is a top destination for many young people, does that mean that I am going to enjoy it there. Being from New York, will I be happy living so far away from my family? Will I be able to start fresh and create a whole new life for myself? Will I be happy there? These are continuing questions I have as the day of graduation approaches, and I have been talking to many friends and family about my decision. All of my friends say the same thing: that it is impossible for me not to be happy in Miami because of the weather and how beautiful it is there. That is true and it is one of the main reasons I wanted to move there, but I can’t be happy there unless I enjoy working there. I thought about what would make me happy in my career and it came down to four criteria.

The first is the balance I am going to have between work and everyday life. I never wanted to be the type of person who spent the majority or their day working without enjoying my personal life. Starting fresh in Miami, I wan to be able to make new friends outside of work, be able to date, enjoy the extravagant social and night life that Miami has to offer and really just be able to benefit from my hard work and create a life for myself that I am happy about. I want to be able to continue with my other hobbies including staying active by playing sports and fitness activities.

The relationship that I am going to have with my employer is also something that will determine me being content in my new job. The company that I will be working with is a small company with only about 10 employees, and I have one main employer, my broker, who I will be dealing with and communicating with on an everyday basis. He will serve as my mentor and guide me throughout my career as a real estate agent. It is important to me that we have a good relationship and I enjoy woking for him instead of dreading coming to work everyday and not enjoying who I am working for.

The amount of money I am going to make is not the most important aspect of my job, but definitely a factor that will make me happier the more I make. The reasons I wanted to venture into real estate were’t because of how wealthy I can become, but I think that creating a better lifestyle for myself and giving myself more opportunity to do the things I want will make me happier overall. The benefit of working in real estate for me is going to come from helping people make a large emotional decision in their lives. But, I would like to see my work pay off and have and be able to enjoy what Miami offers.

The last is the company culture that I am going to be involved in. I want to work for a company with integrity and that wants to work their absolute hardest for their clients. Working for a company that has values that shadow my own is very important to me and I want to be proud to be a part of an organization  and feel good about what I do. This will allow me to enjoy coming to work everyday as I will be a part of something that enhances the area and people that I am around.

I believe that if all of these criteria are met, that I will be very happy in my career. I am glad that I realize these things, so if I ever become unhappy or dissatisfied with my job I will know why and know how to make the appropriate changes. I am going into this with a positive mindset and look forward to the journey.

Standard

Leave a comment