What it Takes to be a Real Estate Agent

I have talked a lot about what is going on in the real estate world in Miami, but have not talked much about what it TAKES to be a realtor in Miami. I wanted to examine what traits and skills I would need to possess, and this is why I have found.

The competencies that are demanded of a real estate agent do not only come from just skills and abilities, but from personal character as well. As a real estate agent, I will be acting as a facilitator when I am representing either a buyer or a seller. As a buyer’s agent I will be meeting with clients to understand what exactly they are looking for in a home, and in what price range. As a seller’s agent I will meet with clients to assist them in deciding on how much to ask for for their property and to convince them that I can find a qualified buyer to meet their demands. My more specific duties vary among many different categories. I will be giving clients information about prices, payment options, and the conditions of the market that are all going to factor into their final decision. In order to determine the market price for a residency, I will have to compare properties in the area and evaluate all of the criteria of each home. I will then have to promote these properties through different advertisements, open houses and listing services in order to sell the property as quickly as possible to the most appropriate buyer. I will have to show the residencies to prospective buyers and inform them on the aspects of the house that they deem most important. Once a buyer makes an offer on the house, I will present that information to the sellers to consider and then act as an intermediary for negotiation between the buyer and seller. Once they come to an agreement I will write the unique sales contract and finalize the transaction.

The skills that are required for these include adaptive and effective communication to a number of clients. Active listening, the most important to me, is also a requirement. It is more important to listen to what the buyer wants and then use that criteria to guide the sales transaction than to give them unnecessary information. Time management and multitasking will be of much importance as I will be working on multiple listings at once and will need to coordinate all of my duties effectively. This takes self motivation which is important because I am choosing how much I am going to work and want to push myself as far as possible.

Aside from skills that I will need to be successful, the character traits that I possess are equally, if not more important, because people are going to have to trust me on my information that I give them and the promises that I make for them when I tell them that I am going to do something. The three most important character traits that you can possess as a real estate agent are honesty, integrity and dependability. With these three traits, clients will take you seriously and feel safe using you to help them buy or sell their home.

Standard

Leave a comment